Our Regularly Scheduled Program

Screen Shot 2013-06-12 at 4.53.05 AMKiyah

I struggle, like most (women?), to define myself here. What words should I use? I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, and friend. I have been a student for decades, and hope that, on some level, I always will be. I am a Nutritional Epidemiologist want-to-be self-employed-nutrition-expert/writer/promoter of all things that strike my fancy (but that doesn’t pay the bills…yet). I like cooking, but really like grocery shopping. I used to love when I planned our meals just right so the cilantro from last night’s Black Bean soup could be used in today’s Wild Rice salad, but then i had a second child and that just doesn’t get me jazzed up like it used to.  I am at peace wandering through a farmers’ market, and wish that more people had an opportunity to feel that way [at peace and wander through a farmers’ market].

I love the smell of fresh cut grass, SCUBA diving, red wine, and dark chocolate. I hate mosquito bites, but love scratching them. I have five books on my nightstand but none of them are more than 2/3 of the way completed. In high school I played field hockey because it was fun (not because I was an athlete), and only recently understood how running could be “my time to think.” Now, I hate going a day without it. I have a terrible memory for musicians, but I could, single handedly, recite nearly every episode of Arrested Development.

Our Regularly Scheduled Program

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jensera

Jennifer Harrington is a Toronto-based illustrator, writer and graphic designer. She illustrated the best-selling children’s book series 'A Moose in a Maple Tree,' which includes the titles 'A Moose in a Maple Tree,' 'The Night Before a Canadian Christmas' and 'Canadian Jingle Bells.' She is also the owner of JSH Graphics, a boutique graphic design agency that specializes in print and web advertising. With her latest project, Eco Books 4 Kids, Jennifer has partnered with illustrator Michael Arnott to create a series of ecologically-themed ebooks for children. Her next book, 'Spirit Bear,' is due for release in the Summer of 2013. Jennifer offers two different school presentations for her 'Moose in a Maple Tree' collection, an illustration demonstration and a Christmas concert series, which can be booked at www.amooseinamapletree.com. She will be taking bookings for school readings of 'Spirit Bear' beginning in October 2013.

Leave a Reply

